Skip to main content

The Library is Here for Students

Getting Books from the Library

We will happily get books for you and hold them until you arrive. Staying out of the stacks helps us keep the library clean and open for other users.

To request a book place a hold request on it in Knox PrimoHold requests are sent to library staff who will retrieve the item(s) from the shelves (if available) in Seymour Library. Items will be placed on the Hold Shelf in Seymour Library until they can be picked up.

To place a hold request on an item in Knox Primo:

1. Go to Knox Primo and sign in

2. Search for the item, then click on the title to display the full record

3. In the menu on the left, click on "Get It"

4. Click on the "Request it For Pickup" link:

5. The small request form opens. Add a comment if you wish. Click SEND REQUEST to place the hold request.

6. You will receive an email notification when the item is ready to be picked up.

Need a Quick Answer? 

  • Our librarians are still here to help you- even if you don’t see them in the building. Connect with a librarian using Chat or email. This is a good way to get help with a citation, choosing the right database and formulating a search strategy, asking about borrowing materials from other libraries, and more. Use the Chat button on our library web pages or the Chat boxes on our Research Guides. Email reference@knox.edu or contact a specific librarian in a subject area. If you are in the library, check at the circulation desk for help, and you will be directed to a librarian on call. 

Research Consultations 

  • Contact a specific librarian in a subject area for more in-depth research help. Librarians can work with you on defining and refining a topic, selecting the right databases to search, formulating a search strategy, and can advise you on how to get materials you need in a timely fashion.  Librarians use a variety of methods to communicate: online chat, email, video conferencing, etc.

Online Tools and Digital Materials 

When working from off-campus it is important to connect to our library databases and other online library tools from the Knox Library web site.  When you make a remote connection to our library resources you will be prompted to log into the proxy server first. Do this using your Knox email username (without the @knox.edu part) and your Knox email password. 

  • Research Guides direct you to appropriate resources based on your subject area. In many cases these research materials are available online. Research guides also provide contact information for the librarian in a subject area.
  • Article and research databases are all accessible remotely. Many of the databases have full text articles or link out to full text articles if you use the Find It  button.

Using Reserves

For the most part, we will not have physical reserves available. We have made our best effort to purchase e-versions of required texts (if they are available) and those will be listed in the reserves list for your class. In the case of physical reserves, you would pick them up at the circulation desk. If your professor says something is on reserve, please be sure to ask if it is a physical item before heading to the library. If you need a book that is not available, please check with a librarian for help. 

Interlibrary Loan & I-share

  • I-Share borrowing is available. In order to place requests for I-Share materials you must first sign inot Knox Primo.
    • Because libraries have instituted new quarantine procedures for materials and many libraries have yet to resume full staffing and service levels, average delivery times have increased. I-Share deliveries may take at least 7-10 days. 
    • If you are not on campus you may be able to make requests in I-Share and pick up the materials at another library. Please call ahead to find out if the library is open and if they allow service to outside patrons during the pandemic. View a list and a map of I-Share libraries.
  • Use the ILLiad interlibrary loan system to request articles that are not available in full text online. We will get the article from another library and email the pdf to you. For more information about using ILLiad see the FAQ.