Skip to main content

Library Services for Faculty

How to order books, how to put items on reserve, how to schedule a library workshop for your course and more!

Curbside Delivery of Library Materials Now Available

Faculty and staff can now request materials from Seymour Library or the Amott Science Commons and ask that they be delivered for curbside pickup service. Here's how:

1. Go to Knox Primo and sign in. 

2. Conduct a search for something you want to place a request on. Click on the title to display the full view of the record.

3. In the menu on the left, click on GET IT.

4. If the item is available for a request, you will see a "Request It For Pickup" link:

Note: Not all items are available for requesting. If you are signed into Knox Primo and there is no Request link, it means the item is not available for requesting.

5. Click on the Request It For Pickup link, then click Send Request. 

6. The request will be sent to library staff. When the item is located and the request is processed you will receive an email message saying the item is on Hold for you. You will also receive a second email message from the library asking you when you would like to pick up the item. 

As always, contact a librarian if you need help finding materials, or email reference@knox.edu.

Get Help from a Librarian in Your Subject Area

Contact the librarian whose liaison assignment matches your department.

Sharon Clayton Michael Joseph Laurie Sauer Rebecca Yowler
(309) 341-7249 (309) 341-7432 (309) 341-7788 (309) 341-7245
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Classics
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Asian Studies
  • Business
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Journalism
  • Political Science
  • Sports Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Environmental Studies
  • History
  • Anthropology & Sociology
  • Art & Art History
  • Education
  • Gender & Women's Studies
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • Theatre & Dance 

Digital Content for Your Courses

When working from off-campus it is important to connect to our library databases and other online library tools from the Knox Library web site.  When you make a remote connection to our library resources you will be prompted to log into the proxy server first. Do this using your Knox email username (without the @knox.edu part) and your Knox email password. 

The Library has many ways you can link to digital content on your LMS pages. Contact your librarian for help finding digital alternatives for print content you’ve relied on until now and to discuss other digitization options.

  • Article and research databases are all accessible remotely. Many of the databases have full text articles or link out to full text articles if you use the Find It   button.
  • Streaming video content is available in the AVON database (over 65,000 titles in all subject areas). Also check Knox Primo to find out if we have previously purchased a film on a different streaming platform. Contact a librarian to find out if we can purchase a specific film if you do not find suitable alternatives to the films you usually show in our collections. In some cases a DVD we own can be digitized and made available, though we would want to explore all other options first. Click the menu item "Getting Films" on the left for more information.
  • The Library has in recent years developed a large collection of ebooks, including thousands of titles from the ACLS Humanities Ebook collection. Search Knox Primo by any subject, author, etc. then limit your results to the 'electronic' format and grab the links from the records. Also:
    • Our JSTOR platform also provides access to thousands more ebooks. You can link to specific chapters in a JSTOR ebook.
    • Project Muse has about 2,000 open access ebooks. Search Project Muse and look for the open access icon: . In addition many publishers have opened up access to their content on the Project Muse platform; search Muse and look for a green checkmark next to an item. 
  • In some cases the Library can provide scans of materials. Contact your librarian (see list above) if you have this need.
  • Click the menu option on the left to learn more about ebook purchasing.