Skip to Main Content

The Special Collections and Archives

Core Collections

undefinedCollege Archives
While documenting the history of the college, the college archives are composed of memorabilia, documents, photographs, and publications about Knox College since 1837. Here, you will find the history of various campus organizations, students, faculty,  staff, and events. 

 

undefinedManuscript Collections 
The manuscript collections hold a variety of materials such as diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, and artifacts related to key individuals and subjects from the campus and the general public.  Included are over 300 collections of primary resources spanning various themes and topics. 

 

undefinedRare Books 

From medieval manuscripts to more contemporary pop-up books, the rare book collections highlight unique literary works and formats. Some of our most widely used and notable collections are the Hemingway Collection, the Finley Collection, the Strong Collection and the Preston Player Collection

 

undefinedLocal History Collections

Both Knox College and the city of Galesburg were founded together in 1837. Thus, the early days of the city are preserved in our local history series, along with other materials related to the histories of community businesses, churches, buildings, government, and people. 

 

undefinedArt Collections

The art collections provide a strong academic backbone for our art history and printmaking classrooms. These collections consist of various works by Rembrandt, Durer, Whistler, Roualt, and Knox graduates. Though the collection is particularly strong in prints, works on canvas, ceramics, and sculpture are also included.