Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Special Collections and Archives

Welcome to Special Collections & Archives!

Knox College Special Collections and Archives preserves and provides access to a variety of collections that support the teaching and research endeavors of the campus, as well as the wider community. Due to their rarity and enduring value, materials are non-circulating and kept in a secure, environmentally controlled section of the library. 

Though we preserve student materials, information about recent graduates can be obtained from the Office of Alumni Relations (309-341-7238). Official academic records can be obtained from the Office of the Registrar (309-341-7205)

Using Special Collections During COVID-19

Reading Room visits: The Reading Room is open by appointment only to Knox College students, faculty, and staff. To request an appointment, please contact Special Collections 1-2 business days before your intended visit.. Appointments may be requested for the period 1 pm to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.  

All visitors to the Special Collections and Archives must abide by the Knox College visitors policy. After getting approval to visit the campus, visitors to the Reading Room are required to wear a mask for the entirety of their appointment, as well as wash their hands before handling the materials.   

Reference: We will continue to provide virtual reference and research assistance to the Knox campus and wider community. Due to limited staff time, however, questions may take 1-2 weeks to complete. Contact the library staff for assistance with reference questions or reproductions.

Instruction: Until further notice, all instruction sessions will be performed virtually or in a hybrid mode. Unique in-person requests may be allowed with small class sizes, under the discretion of the librarian. To schedule a virtual class, fill out our Instruction Session form at least 1-2 weeks in advance.