Skip to main content

Get Started With These Research Tools

Search the Knox Library Catalog for books, films and other materials:

Login to your Library Account | Find Course Reserves | Search in the Classic catalog

Get help finding e-books, films, music

If your course has a research guide, start there:

 

Or, choose a subject guide to get started:

 

Databases and digital resources:

 

 

Find more resources: A-Z list with subject categories | Research Guides by Subject

Popular e-journals collections at Knox: JSTOR and Project Muse.

Loading ...

Resources for Online Teaching & Learning

Students
See this guide on using library services during the pandemic closure.

Faculty
See this guide to connect to librarians and library services during the pandemic closure.

How To ...

 

Additional Digital Resources for Remote Teaching & Learning

Many library vendors and and information providers are offering freely accessible resources during Spring 2020. Note: Some of these resources require authentication to our proxy server first. If prompted to login to the proxy server, do that with your Knox email username (without the @knox.edu) and your Knox email password. 

When working from off-campus it is important to connect to our library databases and other online library tools from the Knox Library web site.  When you make a remote connection to our library resources you will be prompted to log into the proxy server first. Do this using your Knox email username (without the @knox.edu part) and your Knox email password. 

From EBSCO Information Services

From Ithaka/JSTOR

Project MUSE
Project MUSE supports free materials from: Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books), and many more.  

HeinOnline Academic
Materials for studying the law: Brennan Center for Justice Publications, CFR, Federal Register Library, FRUS, GAO reports, US Statutes at Large, Congressional Serial Set, Law Journal Library, US Federal Legislative History Library, US Supreme Court Library, and much more.

Cambridge
Cambridge is allowing free access (html view only) to several collections: Textbooks, Elements, and Companions through May 31.

Brepols
Brepols offers read-only access to its ebook collection, primarily in the humanities: history, medieval studies, religion, philosophy, languages & literature. 

The Internet Archive has a National Emergency Library
"A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed." 

The Knox College Bookstore provides free access to some ebooks.

Visit the Special Collections and Archives pages for more about these unique and interesting collections in Seymour Library:

College Archives

Knox College Archives

The Archives holds the record of the life of Knox College, including the history of the college's founding in 1837.

Rare Books

Rare Books Collections

The Rare Books collections feature works about early America, the Civil War, Hemingway, children's literature and much more.

Manuscripts

Manuscripts Collections

The Manuscripts collection is comprised of over 300 separate collections. 

Local History

Local History Collections

The Local History collections tell the story of Galesburg's development and the founding of Knox College.

Art Collections

Art Collections

The Art Collection is composed of works on canvas, prints, ceramics and sculpture. 

Digital Exhibits

The Allen Ayrault Green Photograph Collection

The Allen Ayrault Green Photograph Collection

The Art of the Book: Personal and Institutional Bookplates

The Art of the Book: Personal and Institutional Bookplates

The Grace Ward 19th Century Photograph Collection

The Grace Ward 19th Century Photograph Collection

The Harold Way Photograph Collection

The Harold Way Photograph Collection

Knox College Experiences the First World War

Knox College Experiences the First World War

Muralism in Revolutionary Nicaragua: The Henry Houser Collection

Muralism in Revolutionary Nicaragua: The Henry Houser Collection

Netsuke Ivory Carvings

Netsuke Ivory Carvings

Outside the Shadow of Rembrandt

Outside the Shadow of Rembrandt

Railroads in the Midwest digital collection

Railroads in the Midwest 

Seeing America: Vision and Visual Culture in America

Seeing America: Vision and Visual Culture in America

Struggle and Progress: African Americans in Knox County

Struggle and Progress: African Americans in Knox County

The Way to Knox digital collection

The Way to Knox