Research Help: Using Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar allows you to quickly search across literature from numerous disciplines. Google Scholar includes scholarly articles, theses, books, conference papers, and more from multiple organizations, including professional societies, academic publishers, and universities. Google Scholar will provide links to material that is freely available on the web; for other material it will show at least an abstract.


Why not always use Google Scholar?

While Google Scholar is good for quick searching and verifying citations, the list of publishers and organizations from which it collects materials is proprietary, which means you don't really know what publishers are excluded from your search results. It's also difficult to tell how your results are ranked, and features that allow you to narrow your search are not included.

Google Scholar also lacks the depth that subject-specific databases provide. Remember that most everything in Google Scholar will be included in subscription databases, but not vice versa.


Linking Knox Databases to Google Scholar

Google Scholar is not a full text database; it will provide a link to the full text only if it is freely available on the web. Otherwise, Google Scholar may lead you to sites that ask you to sign in or purchase specific articles.

You can set up Google Scholar so that it links into the databases available at Knox. To set up Google Scholar to link with Knox's resources, follow these steps:

  1. From Google Scholar, access "Settings" from the top menu.
  2. Click on "Library Links" from the left menu.
  3. Search for "Knox College" and then select the appropriate options:

Once you save these settings, you'll see the option to "Get Item" next to materials available at Knox:


Linking RefWorks to Google Scholar

If you use RefWorks to manage your citations, you can also set up Google Scholar to allow exports to RefWorks. Follow these steps to set it up:

  1. From Google Scholar, access "Settings" from the top menu.
  2. Under Bibliography Manager, choose the option to "Show links to import citations to..." and choose RefWorks from the drop-down menu:

Have a Question?