PS 321: European Governments: News Sources

  • Last Updated: Dec 15, 2020 2:07 PM
  • URL: https://knox.libguides.com/PS321
  • Print Page

Quick Links

Find News Sources From Around the World

Because the depth of any online news source's archive will vary, be sure to also use the two databases Access World News and LexisNexis to discover older material not found via web sites.

The following non-U.S. news outlets (papers, internet news sources, newswires) provide extensive coverage on global events and issues.

  • allAfrica.com -- Aggregates news from dozens of sources and contains the archive of Africa News Service dating back to 1997.
  • BBC News -- The BBC is based in London but is renowned for its international scope of coverage. Some BBC content is available in the Access World News database.
  • Financial Times -- A London-based paper with a focus on business news. Content from the Financial Times is also available in the Access World News database.
  • GlobalPost -- This web-based news outlet and syndication service has only been around for about a year. Based in Boston, GlobalPost has a "network of more than 70 correspondents spread across more than 50 countries in every region of the globe."
  • Reuters -- This news agency, based in London, has been around since 1851.
  • Xinhua News -- "Releases important news about China and the world." Xinhua News Agency content is also in LexisNexis (news wire services).

The following sites are gateways to news sources with listings organized by country.

  • The Big Project News and Current Affairs -- Lists news sources by geographic area; provides a separate section with a list of European sources in non-English.
  • The ICON Database of International Newspapers is a freely accessible electronic resource intended to provide reliable information on newspapers published outside of the United States. Because you can search the database by country, this is a great place to go if you want to find out the names of specific papers published in a country. Once you have the name of a paper, use Google to find the paper on the internet (if it exists on the web) or use the Knox College interlibrary loan system to request specifc issues (on microfilm) of the paper.
  • JournalismNet keeps pages with links to newspapers from all over the world. This organization also maintains links to historical news archives and to audio and video archives.
  • LANIC's Newspaper and News in Latin America -- Lists news sources for all Latin American countries.
  • world-newspapers.com  and Newspapers.com -- These two sites both list newspapers by country.