Study Abroad Resources: Accessing Articles

Access library resources while you're abroad!

Databases

All of the databases that the Knox Library subscribes to are available to you while you are abroad.

Databases are resources that provide citations and abstracts of journal articles and other scholarly materials. 

To find recommended databases for your research topic:

Note: when you access a database from off-campus you'll be asked for your Knox username and password. Once you enter this information, you'll be directed to the resource.

Full Text

How do you find the full text of an article?

If you are in a Knox database:

  • look for a full text link in the database you are using - this may be a link to the HTML or PDF of the article
  • use the Find It! button available in the article citation to find full text in other Knox databases 

If you already have a citation from a database or bibliography:

Finally, if the article is not available in full text or in the library, request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Abroad

When abroad, you may:

  • request articles from other libraries through ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
  • use this service to request articles that are in print at Knox to be emailed to you while abroad

First-time Users

  1. Go to ILLiad and click the First Time Users link. Agree to the terms of use to be directed to the registration form.
  2. Fill out the registration form, creating your own username and password.

Place a Request from Abroad

  1. Login to your ILLiad account
  2. IMPORTANT: When you place a request, put into the note field:
                Electronic Article - Currently Studying Abroad

Taking these steps will alert library staff that the article MUST be available delivered through your Illiad account or emailed to you.