New Student Guide to the Knox College Library: Locations & Spaces

This guide will introduce you to the basic library services available at the Knox College Libraries.

Knox College Has Two Libraries

Knox College has 2 libraries on campus: Seymour Library and the Kresge Science-Mathematics Library. Both libraries include computers, printers, quiet & group study space, and WiFi access.

Click on the Library Hours link in the banner above to view hours for both libraries.


Seymour Library

Circulation Desk: 341-7246 · Reference Desk: 341-7228

Seymour Library is Knox College's main library, housing books and journals for the humanities, fine arts and social sciences as well as materials in Special Collections and Archives.

The library has many different seating options for individuals and groups hoping to work in both quiet areas and spaces where talking is permitted (and encouraged). It also features a color printer/copier/scanner.

Library staff offices are located in Seymour Library.

Special Collections and Archives

The Special Collections and Archives support the curriculum and the academic programs of the college and provide primary source material for independent study and honors work. Faculty, staff and students, as well as numerous researchers from around the world, use the collections.


Kresge Science-Mathematics Library

Circulation Desk: 341-7487

The Kresge Science-Mathematics Library, located on the 2nd floor of the Umbeck Science-Mathematics Center (SMC), houses the College's scientific and technical collections.

The Science Library's collections include books, journals, and course reserves covering the natural sciences, mathematics and psychology.

STARTING FALL 2018, all SMC reserves will be held at the Seymour library until SMC renovations are complete. The SMC library will close during renovations and all collections will move to SMC. Please be aware this may occur during Fall 2018 or before the start of Winter 2019.