Skip to main content

Library Services for Faculty

How to order books, how to put items on reserve, how to schedule a library workshop for your course and more!

We are here to help you with library services during the 2020 pandemic closure. Look for information in this guide and then contact us with any questions you have. 

Contact the librarian whose liaison assignment matches your department.

Sharon Clayton Michael Joseph Laurie Sauer Rebecca Yowler
(309) 341-7249 (309) 341-7432 (309) 341-7788 (309) 341-7245
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Classics
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Asian Studies
  • Business
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Journalism
  • Political Science
  • Sports Studies
  • Africana Studies
  • Environmental Studies
  • History
  • Anthropology & Sociology
  • Art & Art History
  • Education
  • Gender & Women's Studies
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • Theatre & Dance 

Need a Quick Answer? 

  • Connect with a librarian using Chat or email. Use the Chat button on our library web pages or the Chat boxes on our website and on our Research Guides. Email reference@knox.edu or contact a specific librarian in a subject area.

Interlibrary Loan 

  • You can still use the ILLiad interlibrary loan system to request articles that are not available in full text online. For more information about using ILLiad see the FAQ.
  • I-Share borrowing is suspended until further notice. You will not be able to place requests for I-Share materials in the I-Share catalog. As always, there are no fines for overdue materials. We will sort out overdue items after full service resumes.
  • If you want to travel to another I-Share library to borrow materials, please call ahead to find out if the library is open and if they allow service to outside patrons during the pandemic. View a list and a map of I-Share libraries.

Digital Content for Your Courses

When working from off-campus it is important to connect to our library databases and other online library tools from the Knox Library web site.  When you make a remote connection to our library resources you will be prompted to log into the proxy server first. Do this using your Knox email username (without the @knox.edu part) and your Knox email password. 

The Library has many ways you can link to digital content on your LMS pages. Contact your librarian for help finding digital alternatives for print content you’ve relied on until now and to discuss other digitization options.

  • Article and research databases are all accessible remotely. Many of the databases have full text articles or link out to full text articles if you use the Find It   button.
  • Streaming video content is available in the AVON database (over 65,000 titles in all subject areas). Also check our library catalog to find out if we have previously purchased a film on a different streaming platform. Contact a librarian to find out if we can purchase a specific film if you do not find suitable alternatives to the films you usually show in our collections. In some cases a DVD we own can be digitized and made available, though we would want to explore all other options first. Click the menu item "Getting Films" on the left for more information.
  • The Library has in recent years developed a large collection of ebooks, including thousands of titles from the ACLS Humanities Ebook collection. Search the library catalog by any subject, author, etc. then limit your results to the 'electronic' format and grab the links from the records. Also:
    • Our JSTOR platform also provides access to thousands more ebooks. You can link to specific chapters in a JSTOR ebook.
    • Project Muse has about 2,000 open access ebooks. Search Project Muse and look for the open access icon: . In addition many publishers have opened up access to their content on the Project Muse platform; search Muse and look for a green checkmark next to an item. 
  • In some cases the Library can provide scans of materials. Contact your librarian (see list above) if you have this need.
  • Click the menu option on the left to learn more about ebook purchasing.

Best Practices for Off-Campus Access to E-resources

To create links for web and Moodle pages that allow Knox constituents access to library subscription resources, your links must contain the stem for the proxy server. Precede a URL that you get from a subscription resource with the following proxy server stem.

https://knox.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

For instance, the base URL for Choice Reviews Online is http://cro2.org so to make this resource available via the proxy server, add the proxy server stem to it, like this:

https://knox.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.chronicle.com/

When you find an article or book chapter in one of the library's subscription resources and you want to provide that link to students, do not simply copy the address from the browser's address bar. Instead, look for the permanent (sometimes called "durable" or "stable") link on the page. 

For example, in JSTOR, the stable link is displayed below the publication information:

Use the stable URL and add the proxy prefix to it. The result will be this link: 

https://knox.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20208469