Library Services for Faculty: Locations & Spaces

How to order books, how to put items on reserve, how to schedule a library workshop for your course and more!

Knox College Has 2 Libraries

Both libraries include computers, quiet & group study space, and WiFi accessLibrary hours vary throughout the year and differ for each library. Click on the Library Hours link in the banner above for specific hours information.


Seymour Library

Circulation Desk: (309) 341-7246 · Reference Desk: (309) 341-7228

Seymour Library is Knox College's main library, housing books and journals for the humanities and social sciences. Psychology is split - Books are here in Seymour Library and Journals are in the Science Library.  The Special Collections and Archives collections are also housed in Seymour Library. 

The building's interesting and unique spaces and quiet study rooms are rich in history and provide patrons with a study atmosphere steeped in the academic tradition.

All Library staff offices are located in Seymour Library.  This means that your librarian liaisons, regardless of subject area, have their offices in Seymour Library.     

Special Collections and Archives

The Special Collections and Archives include the Archives of Knox College, Manuscripts Collections and Rare Books. The collections support the curriculum and the academic programs of the college and provide primary source material for independent study and honors work. Faculty, staff and students, as well as numerous researchers from around the world use the collections.  The Special Collections and Archives contain materials that can be used to support almost any subject area. First editions of works by Euclid, Galileo, and Kepler;  Japanese Netsuke; 16th century illustrations of mining techniques; Goya prints; Hemingway first editions; a medieval manuscript Book of Hours; Civil War soldiers's diaries; and 18th c. journals published by early explorers are just a few of the things that can be found here. Your Librarian Liaison can help you identify materials in these collections related to the subject you teach. The Special Collections & Archives department's hours differ from the main library's. They are open Monday through Friday from 9 am-noon and 1 pm-4:30 pm.


Kresge Science-Mathematics Library

Circulation Desk: (309) 341-7487

The Kresge Science-Mathematics Library, located on the 2nd floor of the Umbeck Center, houses the scientific and technical collections of the College. 

The Science Library's collections include books, journals, and course reserves to support the following departments and programs:  Biology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, and Physics.  Journals and course reserves to support Psychology are also found here.  Books to support Psychology are found in Seymour Library. Most Environmental Sciences materials are also housed in the Science Library, but those with a more social science focus are found in Seymour Library.

There are no library staff offices in the Science Library. The circulation desk is staffed primarily by students. If you need assistance while in the Science Library, you can ask the circulation desk attendant to call over to the Seymour Library Reference desk or to a particular librarian. Usually we can help you remotely or come over if needed.