ENVS 242: Hydrology: Article Databases

  • Last Updated: Jun 23, 2020 1:32 PM
  • URL: https://knox.libguides.com/envs242
  • Print Page

Limit Your Results

Limit your results set in GeoRef to those items that are obtainable and useful: Academic Journals, Books, Reports. Use the Source Type limiters displayed in the left-hand column:

GeoRef limits

Academic journal articles, books and reports are usually easy to get using I-Share or interlibrary loan. Conference papers only provide abstracts (summaries of papers) and so will not be useful; interlibrary loan requests for these will be rejected. 

Journal Article Databases

Use the following databases to identify journal articles. In some cases, the articles will be available in full text. If not, use the button to find the article in another database or request it via our interlibrary loan system.

GeoRef -- A comprehensive index to geology and related geosciences literature from journals, conference reports, government documents and more.

Greenfile -- covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

Academic Search Complete -- A general database of primarily academic journals covering all subject areas. 

NAL Catalog (Agricola) -- Compiled by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations to materials, from 1970 to the present, on all aspects of agriculture. This database contains citations to scholarly articles, technical and scientific reports and news articles. 

GeoRef Search Tips

1. Access GeoRef. Use the facet limiting features in the left-hand column to narrow your results set. For example, click on the arrow next to Subjects to see subject headings.

Then, check one or more boxes to view only those items using your chosen subject headings.

 


2. When searching GeoRef for articles in the subject hydrology, use the term "hydrology" as a search term limited to the "Subjects" field, combined with other appropriate keywords. See this example:


 

3. The GeoRef Thesaurus is useful to help you pick the correct terms that describe a process, geologic term or geographical area. This is particularly helpful if you do not know the exact spelling of a term.


Click on the menu option "Thesaurus" at the the top of the page.

Search for the term (or an approximation of the term) and ADD the term(s) to your search.