Click here to get the Group Code to login to RefWorks from off-campus.
Still have Questions?
Have questions about using RefWorks? Contact the Seymour Library Reference Desk:
Have technical questions? Contact RefWorks support:
What's in this Guide
This is a guide to help you get started using RefWorks to manage your citations. It is divided into the following tabs:
- Getting Started - learn about creating your RefWorks account and accessing RefWorks from on and off campus
- Importing References - learn how to get references from the library catalog and EBSCOhost databases into RefWorks, as well as how to add references manually. Subtabs introduce how to import references from the following databases:
- Organizing References - learn how to organize references into folders, edit, and delete references
- Creating Bibliographies - learn how to create bibliographies instantly
- Write-N-Cite - get information on using Write-N-Cite, an add-on feature that lets you integrate RefWorks with Microsoft Word
- Sharing References - how to share references from your RefWorks database
- Using RefShare - how to search, view, print in a shared RefWorks folder
- RefWorks FAQ - get answers to the most frequently asked questions about RefWorks
What is RefWorks?
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:
- Organize your research
- Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from many data sources
- Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Being web-based means no software to download and update, and you can access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet.
What does it do?
RefWorks simplifies the process of documenting sources in your paper by turning this: (sample information about a book in a library catalog)...
Author, etc.: Finkelman, Paul, 1949-
Title: Slavery and the founders : race and liberty in the age of Jefferson / Paul Finkelman.
Edition: 2nd ed.
Publisher: Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe,
Type of material: Book
Description: xii, 296 p. ; 24 cm.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. 253-265) and index.
Contents: 1. Making a Covenant with Death: Slavery and the Constitutional Convention -- 2. Slavery and the Northwest Ordinance, 1787: A Study in Ambiguity -- 3. Evading of Ordinance: The Persistence of Bondage in Indiana and Illinois -- 4. Implementing the Proslavery Constitution: The Adoption of the Fugitive Slave Law of 1793 -- 5. The Problem of Slavery in the Age of Federalism -- 6. "Treason Against the Hopes of the World": Thomas Jefferson and Slavery -- 7. Thomas Jefferson, Sally Hemings, and Antislavery: Historians and Myths.
Library of Congress subject headings: Slavery--Law and legislation--United States--History. Slavery--United States--History.
ISBN: 0765604388 (alk. paper)
...into this (sample entry from a list of references. APA style) with minimal effort while still preserving all of the detailed information about that source for future use:
Finkelman, P. (2001). Slavery and the founders: race and liberty in the age of Jefferson (2nd ed.). Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe.