Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Databases are resources that provide citations and abstracts of journal articles and other scholarly materials.

For additional databases, see the library's A-Z list of databases or the databases by subject list.

NOTE: Databases marked with * are provided by the vendor EBSCOhost and can be searched simultaneously. See this quick guide on using EBSCOhost databases.

HLAS - Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A searchable, bibliography on Latin America consisting of works on the social sciences and humanities selected and annotated by scholars (meaning sources are high-quality but the Handbook is not comprehensive).

Latindex
Latindex’ Portal of Portals (PPL) provides access to the contents and full text documents of scholarly journals available on digital collections from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal supporters of the Open Access movement. The objective is to disseminate the scientific knowledge published in the Ibero-American region. Note: click on "idioma" to change search form to English
Dialnet
Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities. Includes links to full text of many open source journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that indexes thousands of peer-reviewed journals, many available in full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text collection of important scholarly journals in many academic disciplines, mainly 5+ years old.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals; also includes full-text reference books and monographs and full text conference papers.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology research database with over 2 million records containing informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books and dissertations on topics in literature. The materials covered are international in scope and date back to the 1920s.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers historical scholarship for the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database has many full-text articles primarily in the social sciences.

RefWorks

RefWorks is web-based tool that allows you to:

♦ systematically organize citations
♦ easily include citations in your paper
♦ build a bibliography using specific styles (Chicago, MLA, etc.)
♦ import references from many databases and library catalogs

For more on learning RefWorks, check out the library's Refworks Guide.