Find Films: Videos on the Web

A guide to finding films at Knox College
  • Last Updated: Feb 19, 2019 1:55 PM
  • URL: https://knox.libguides.com/film
  • Print Page

Videos from Cultural Institutions

See the American Memory Motion Pictures collection at the Library of Congress site.

C-SPAN Video Library has full content for their programming back to 1987.  Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords and location.

Europa Film Treasures "...dives into the moving heritage of European cultural and political history..." with films in all genres "...from comedy to science fiction, from westerns to animation, from erotic to ethnological movies."

FedFlix, part of the Internet Archive, is a collection of movies and films created by agencies of the U.S. government. This is a joint venture between the National Technical Information Service and PublicResource.Org.

The Internet Archive Moving Image Archive contains thousands of digital movies: from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to World War II propaganda films, to government propaganda films, to user-generated content. Many of the films are avaialable for free download.

The Moving Image Collections catalog provides records, and, in some cases, actual video, of moving images from a variety of cultural institutions. This catalog brings together records of moving images from the Library of Congress, National Geographic, HBO, Pacific Film Archive, the Smithsonian Institution, and many other institutions.

The National Archives and Google has digitized historic video from NASA, United Newsreel Motion Pictures (1942-1945), the U.S. Dept. of the Interior and other sources. Access this collection on the NARA Youtube channel. Read more about NARA's video digitization efforts here

Open Vault from the WGBH Media Library and Archives "... provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning."

SnagFilms is a growing web site that makes hundreds of documentaries of all kinds available for free viewing. You can embed films in websites too, if you don't mind the advertising that goes with the embedded format. The site is searchable and browsable by subject or alphabetically.

Copyright & Use Restrictions

Pay attention to use restrictions and copyright notices!

As with any digital resource, it is prudent to check the  terms of use statements associated with individual items or collections before inserting the media into your project.

Popular Collections

Check YouTube and Vimeo for video too:

 

Google has a separate video search interface that allows you to search by keyword the wider web for videos (but it also includes YouTube). And, in a regular Google search you can also limit your results to videos using the menu at the top of your results page.

Contact Knox College Library: reference@knox.edu