Find News Sources: Historical Sources

Links and tips for finding news sources both online and in Seymour Library.
  • Last Updated: Nov 21, 2018 9:22 AM
  • URL: https://knox.libguides.com/news
  • Print Page

Find Collections with Google

Use Google search to find collections of freely available historical newspapers. Many U.S. states have digitization projects for historical newspapers, for example, New York State Historical Newspapers. Try a search using the name of the state and the keywords "historical newspapers". 

In addition, other countries have national newspaper digital projects, such as Gallica from the National Library of France and Trove, the digital collections from the National Library of Australia.

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives is a digital collection of material from the 18th and 19th centuries. It is an eclectic collection of newspapers and published texts. Highlights include a set of eight African American newspapers from the 19th century, including Frederick Douglass' Paper; full texts of county histories from, so far, 38 states; a collection of newspapers and texts about the Civil War; miscellaneous newspapers such as The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), The Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), William Lloyd Garrison's The Liberator (1835-1865), and many others. View a list of the contents of the Accessible Archives collection here. Available only to Knox College affiliates.

Miscellaneous Collections Online

The Times of London

The Times of London logo

The Library has a subscription to the Times Digital Archive which allows for full text searching of the archive going back to 1785.

Chronicling America

Chronicling America from the Library of Congress is primarily a directory of America's historical newspapers 1789-1922. Some content has been digitized and available at the site.

Illinois Newspapers

The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections at the University of Illinois makes about 100  Illinois published historical newspapers and trade journals available in digital format. 

Contact Knox College Library: reference@knox.edu