Find News Sources: News & Commentary Magazines

Links and tips for finding news sources both online and in Seymour Library.
  • Last Updated: Nov 21, 2018 9:22 AM
  • URL: https://knox.libguides.com/news
  • Print Page

Some Good News & Commentary Magazines

Time and Newsweek are widely circulation news magazines aimed at the general public. Usually these are not appropriate sources because the level of coverage and analysis is aimed at high school level and below. Instead, look at some of the following magazines. Be sure to investigate whether the magazine has a political bias.

Using LexisNexis to find Magazine Articles

The LexisNexis database contains content from news magazines such as The Economist,  The Weekly Standard, The Financial Times and many others. To limit your results to news stories in magazines apply the "Magazines" source type limit to your search results set by selecting it from the drop-down list under "Search the  News."

Using Academic Search Complete to Find Magazine Articles

The Academic Search Complete database contains content from news magazines such as The Nation, The National Review, The Economist and many others, as well as from scholarly journals such as Foreign Policy and Foreign Affairs.

To limit your results to magazines, omitting scholarly peer reviewed journal articles, perform your search. With the results list in view, click on the source type limit for "Magazines" in the left column:

Likewise, to limit your results to academic (scholarly) journals, perform your search, and, with the results list in view, click on the source type limit for "Academic Journals".

Many news magazines and academic journals are available in full text in Academic Search Complete. If the article you seek is not in full text in this database, then click the button to find out if it is available in another database (such as LexisNexis).

Contact Knox College Library: reference@knox.edu