Research Guides: Music: Reference Materials

Music Reference

Print

Seymour Library has a collection of print reference materials, shelved with call numbers beginning with ML.

These are in the Reference Room on the 1st floor of the library.

Online

Credo Reference is an online collection of over 500 reference books in multiple disciplines. Along with general resources, Credo includes 8 music-specific reference titles.

Search all Credo Reference titles.

Additional Online Reference

Classical Music Navigator
Provides information on important classical music composers and their works arranged in a way to allow the novice or casual listener to identify additional materials
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia of the Library of Congress brings together the library's various collections of music, dance, and theater.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is a full-text reference resource that includes the classic Grove Music Online. Titles include:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 29 vols. (2nd ed., 2001) [print available in the Reference Room at ML100.N48 2000]
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 3 vols. (2nd ed., 2002) [print available in the Reference Room at ML102.J3 N48 2002]
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, 4 vols. (1992) [print available in the Reference Room at ML102.O6 N5 1992]
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Oxford Companion to Music

The online collection is fully searchable and entries include bibliographies. The bibliographies contain the button, which allows you to link to print and online content available at Knox. If you can't find a resource from a bibliography at Knox, request it through Tipasa interlibrary loan.

To search Oxford Music Online and Grove Music Online:

Search results can be limited by source and entry type (subject entry, biography, image):