Research Guides: Art and Art History: Find Images

Artstor

Artstor is a database of images of art work, art objects, cultural objects and architecture contributed by museums, archives and libraries from all over the world.

Conduct a "Quick Search" for artist, subject or work of art.

Conduct an "Advanced Search" and limit to artistic genre, geographic location and even time period.

Acceptable use of images (Artstor policy on permitted and prohibited use)

See the Artstor guide for help using the database.

Shared Image Group
If someone has shared an image group with you, this is how to add it to your own ARTSTOR account.

MORE Image Sources

Many museums, such as the Art Institute of Chicago and MoMA, and other cultural institutions have digitized items from their collections for public display on the web. See this list to find a museum of interest.

Google Arts & Culture has images from museums and cultural institutions around the world, such as MoMA, The British Museum, National Museum-New Delhi, and many others. Use the menu on the left to explore by collections, themes, artists, mediums, art movements, and more. (See Google's Art Camera project to explore some images in detail!)

Below are some other sites to try.

Bridgeman Art Library
An outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world.
DPLA -- Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is a gateway to thousands of digitized materials held by libraries and cultural institutions.
Library of Congress Art & Architecture Digital Collections
A variety of digitized materials held by the Library of Congress.
Saskia Art Images
The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt..