Research Guides: Education (General): Statistics

Educational Related Statistics

Childstats.gov
Contains statistical information detailing the wellbeing of children in the United States.

FedStats
Contains statistical information from over 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies. Subjects covered include economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains statistical information on every quantifiable dimension of American history, including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.

International Statistical Agencies
Contains links to many nations' statistical bureaus. Most of the data provided is in English as well as the language of origin.

National Center for Education Statistics
Contains statistical information on all levels of U.S. education - early childhood, elementary, secondary, and postsecondary.

Childstats.gov
Contains statistical information detailing the well-being of children in the United States.
FedStats
Contains statistical information from over 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies. Subjects covered include economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains statistical information on every quantifiable dimension of American history, including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
International Statistical Agencies
Contains links to many nations' statistical bureaus. Most of the data provided is in English as well as the language of origin.
National Center for Education Statistics
Contains statistical information on all levels of U.S. education - early childhood, elementary, secondary, and postsecondary. Several of the data sets are listed individually below, but much more can be found on the website. Data recorded is generally between 1990 to the present.

* Data Tools - allows searching for specific schools and districts. Comparisons among schools and districts also available.
* Condition of Education - a compendium of annual statistics collected by the NCES, including participation, outcomes, progress and school characteristics.
* Digest of Educational Statistics - an annual compendium of U.S. information, pre-K to graduate level. 1990 to the present is available via this NCES website. PRINT VOLUME: Reference L11 .D48 (year)
* Projections of Education Statistics - provides 10 year projections as well as state and national data from the past 15 years.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains statistics focused on American social and economic condition. Also includes some international data.

More places to look

Administration on Aging Statistics
Contains statistical information on the older population (persons over 65 years of age) in the United States.
FedStats
Contains statistical information from over 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies. Subjects covered include economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.

U.S. Census Bureau

The United States Census Bureau is the place to go for current census data. The decennial census contains demographic information about the United States population. current data is based on the 2010 census. The site also provides access to earlier census data.