Research Guides: Latin American Studies: News Resources

Spanish-Language News Sources

El Universal (Mexico)
Major Mexican newspaper
Prensa-Latina (Cuba)
The official state-run news agency of Cuba
El Neuvo Día (Puerto Rico)
NewsBank World News
Provides searchable access to many current newspapers throughout the world, including a number of publications from Central and South America and the Caribbean. Excellent source if you are looking for coverage of a certain event or person.
Newspapers & News in Latin America
Access regional news and news sites for specific Latin American & Caribbean countries. The list also includes Spanish-language newspapers published in the United States.
Magazines in Latin America
Get access to popular and news magazines in Latin America. The site includes magazines directed toward the entire Latin American region as well as a country-by-country list of selected publications.
ICON: Newspaper Digitization
Link to digital archives of newspapers by country. Note that some resources require a subscription.
ICON Newspaper Database
A freely accessible electronic resource intended to provide reliable information on newspapers published outside of the United States. Because you can search the database by country, this is a great place to go if you want to find out the names of specific papers published in a country. Once you have the name of a paper, use Google to find the paper on the internet (if it exists on the web) or use the Knox College interlibrary loan system to request specifc issues (on microfilm) of the paper.

Historical Newspapers

LexisNexis

LexisNexis has major U.S. and international news sources, news wire services and TV and radio broadcast transcripts.

To search Spanish-language news sources, choose Foreign Language from the News menu.

To browse the available Spanish-language sources, choose Sources > Browse Sources from the menu.

Access World News

Access World News is a database of thousands of sources: newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, news web-only content and video and includes local, national and international sources.

Spanish sources remain in Spanish, but all other foreign-language sources are translated into English.

To browse sources or search a specific geographic area, navigate using the map or location lists.