You can locate plays in the Knox Library catalog by searching for a TITLE or AUTHOR. Remember, if we do not have a play you need, you can request it through I-Share or ILLiad! (See the tab above for how)
Or, browse these print resources for possible titles:
Collections
(Search "Drama--Collections" in the Knox Online Catalog as a Subject)
The Best Plays of... PN6112 .B45
The Best Short Plays PN6120 .A4 B44
Lists of Plays
Drury's guide to best plays Z5781 .D8
Samual French's basic catalog of plays PN6111 .S357 1977
"Free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956."
Publishing plays since 1885. Search for plays by title, author, cast size, theme, genre, etc.
An extensive list of titles, including the most significant American plays of the past half-century.
List hundreds of musicals, provides a synopsis, original cast list, musical numbers, and links to purchase the script and score.
Like the Internet Movie Database, search for production credits, shows and dates
Offers a huge selection of scripts available for purchase
"A publisher of new plays, selling books and performance rights and offering free online script samples."
Selling scripts since 1830. Allows you to search for plays by number of actors.
"Theatre Profiles is an online compendium of information about TCG member theatres and their productions, going back to 1995. Each completed profile contains a wealth of information accessible in ways never before possible when in book form. Simple searches by production, playwright, or theatre or advanced searches by various combinations of theatre and production information reveals the diversity of TCG theatres and their work. The ultimate goal of this project is to provide a complete record of our member theatres' activity from 1995 to the present." -tcg website
Yahoo's subject directory lists thousands of theatre companies. (http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Performing_Arts/Theater/Theater_Companies/)
Search the Literary Reference Center database by playwright, and limit to BIOGRAPHIES
Search the Library Catalog for the author's name as a SUBJECT
Contemporary Authors REF PN771 .C58
Contemporary Dramatists REF PN1861 .V5 1977
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance REF PN2035 .O92 2003
Cambridge Guide to Theatre online
See the Find Articles tab above for tips.
Literary Reference Center database
Search the Library Catalog for the PLAY name as a SUBJECT
American Drama Criticism: 1890-1977 REF PS332 .D7 P3 1979
Drama Criticism REF PN1707 .C6
Dramatic Criticism Index REF PN1707 .B8
You may want to search newspapers for reviews or for information about theatre companies.
Full-text access to 6,000 news, business and legal publications
3,000 international newspapers
New York Times (1980-Present) & Historical New York Times (1851-2006)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Many other news sources can be found on the News Sources Research Guide.
When researching a time period, use reference materials to get a quick overview.
Chronology of World History REF D11 .M39 1999
Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present
Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
Or, you may want to use a history database for more in-depth research: Historical Abstracts
Look at United States newspapers of the time:
New York Times (1980-Present) &
Historical New York Times (1851-2006)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)