Theatre: Reference

The Seymour Library uses the Library of Congress call number classification system. If you want to browse the shelves, here are some good places to start:

GV1580-1799.4 Dance

GV 1588 - Dance Philosophy (and theory)

GV 1600 - Dance criticism, appreciation

GV 1645-1728 - Dance history (and historical dance)

NA1-9428 Architecture

NK2200-2750 Furniture

NK4700-4890 Costume

PN1600-3307 Drama (general)

PN1720-1861 Theatre History

PN2061-2071 Acting

PQ500-591 French Drama

PQ4133-4160 Italian Drama

PQ6098.7-6129 Spanish Drama

PR621-744 English Drama

PS330-353  American Drama

PT605-709 German Drama

Reference materials are helpful starting places if you want:

1. To browse for research ideas.
2. Help with focusing your topic.
3. General information about a topic, person, place, or an event.
4. More resources that provide bibliographies – which will lead to additional books and articles.
   

Print Reference materials are found in Seymour Library's Reference Room on the first floor.

General

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras

Dance

Dictionary of Modern Ballet

• Reference GV 1787 .D513

International Encyclopedia of Dance

• Reference GV 1585 .1586 1998 v.1-6

Modern Dance

• Reference GV 1585 .B46 1998

Theatre

The Cambridge guide to Asian Theatre

• Reference PN 2860.C35 1993

Historical Dictonary of Chinese Theater

• Reference PN 2871 .Y86 2008

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater

• Reference PQ 7082 .D7 E63 2003

Cambridge Guide to Theatre

Continuum Companion to 20th Century Theatre

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction

Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers

Drama Criticism

• Reference PN 1707 .C6 v.1-2

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama

• Reference PN 1625 .N3 1984 v.1-5

Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre

• Reference PN 1861 .W67 1994

Search multiple reference sources at once. Check out these three gigantic resources!

• Credo Reference contains over 470 fully searchable reference titles. Art titles include: Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre  and  Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers.

• Sage eReference is a collection of 62 reference texts in the social sciences. Titles cover diverse topics including Encyclopedia of American Urban History and Encyclopedia of Women in the American West.

• Encyclopaedia Britannica Online is the searchable content of the 32 volume printed set. Added content includes images and video.

When researching a time period, use reference materials to get a quick overview.

Chronology of World History Reference D11 .M39 1999

Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present

Encyclopedia of World History

Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History

Hutchinson Chronology of World History