Document collectionsKnox College ArchivesPeriodicals & newspapers

Admin Sign In 

HIST 285: Historian's Workshop (Denial) 

Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://knox.libguides.com/hist285d  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

RefWorks

RefWorks is web-based tool that allows you to:

♦ systematically organize citations
easily include citations in your paper
build a bibliography using specific styles (Chicago, MLA, etc.)
import references from many databases and library catalogs

Login to Refworks

Contact a reference librarian for help using RefWorks.

 
 

The History of the American West

Use the tabs on this site to find out how to collect various types of information for your bibliographies.

[Image: "Last buffalo killed in North Dakota, January 1907 : Casselton, North Dakota." created 1907 by Fred Hultstrand. From The Northern Great Plains, 1880-1920: Photographs from the Fred Hultstrand and F.A. Pazandak Photograph Collections database at the Library of Congress site.]

 

Creating Bibliographies

"No instrument more effective for the fragmentation of thought could be devised, indeed, than the catalogue arranged upon the alphabetical principle, and, after all, one of the services of bibliography is the organizing of thought for the purpose of synthesis."

--Wroth, Lawrence C. "Early Americana," in Standards of Bibliogrpahical Description, Ed. Curt F. Buhler, et al, Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1949. [emphasis added]

Think about ways to organize your bibliography:

  • thematically
  • by geography
  • by time period
  • others?

 

My Profile

Profile ImageLaurie Sauer
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait